Extract From “A Lifetime”

Image

It won’t be long now until my new book, A Lifetime, is released. In the meantime, here is an extract from the opening chapter:

I was born in a bure, a small hut crafted from wood and straw that sat in a a cluster of others, looking like some Neolithic, sun-drenched piece of paradise. Despite appearances; it was far from paradise.

 

The huts were in a sugarcane plantation that worked the residents, my parents included, to the bone. They worked tirelessly for very little money. It was barely enough to keep themselves clothed and fed, let alone their families. My father was working on the day I was born, the day that an untrained midwife — a woman plucked from the sugarcane field to assist my screaming, agonized mother — dragged me from the comfort of my mother’s womb.

 

I came into the world kicking, screaming and suffering under the incompetence of others and I spent my childhood in much the same way. From a very early age I worked as hard as my parents did. I had no comforts, few friends, no time to play, nothing to play with and not much of a life to live.  My parents loved me, they gave me all I could have hoped for, but they couldn’t do anything to make my life easier, to give me the life that a child deserves.

 

I strived to work hard and to make my own way in the world. When I was old enough, after many difficult years on the plantation, I stowed away on a container ship and left the country of my birth. I didn’t know where I was going, didn’t really know anything of the world beyond my small island home, but I was determined to make it wherever the ship took me. 

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Extract From “A Lifetime”

  1. I’m intrigued. I like it so far.

  2. Keep writing, I’m enjoying what I’ve read so far

  3. sprinklesofchatter

    This is a really interesting read. I love how your character’s tone is clear from the beginning.

    Thank you for sharing.

  4. Your thoughts of beauty and life are greatly appreciated. I nominated you for the Shine On and Reader Appreciation Awards. For more information and retrieval of your badge, please visit http://feathermoonpoetry.wordpress.com/perseverance/ Enjoy this beautiful day with much peace and light to you.

  5. Through my life, and certainly these past three years since my vision loss I have met some folks that do nothing but inspire me. You, sir, are another one of those who have caught me by surprise, and I am grateful that you have crossed my path. Good fortunes with your new book and thanks so much for who you are.
    dp lyons

  6. making us guess who you are, where you are from and how you have moved ahead? Like it. Always a bit of mystery.

  7. A very interesting story so far. Best of luck with your book!

Leave a Reply

